Singapore Shores

I think I have mentioned the Couchsurfing app in previous posts, I uploaded my travel plans a while ago to find someone to host me during my stay.

I had been offered to stay with a few hosts here in Singapore, one who turned out to be a bit flakey and couldn’t actually commit, the other who insisted I should stay with him the whole time, then messaged me on the morning telling me a pipe burst in his house so he was staying in a hotel while it was being repaired (I was relieved as I didn’t want to stay with him, he kept nagging to drink all the time, which set my alarm bells off).
He kept insisting I could come stay with him in the hotel, and repeatedly asking if I would drink with him, no matter how many times I said no. 
In the end I said his messages are coming across like he just wants to get me drunk and take advantage, his reply ‘yeh’.
Not exactly what Couchsurfing is for, but obviously for sleaze balls, they will look for any opportunity. Just hope that any other solo female travelers don’t fall for it.
I moved to the hotel today, I chose it based on it being in a different location for me to explore, price and pool. 
After last night’s sleep, I am so happy to be in a room alone. The hostel dorm was full when I came back at 3am, air con and fan on again, I had no blanket to steal and couldn’t put my towel up to protect me from the icy blast from the fan. 
So once I’d got ready for bed I quickly turned the fan off and hoped no one would notice! They didn’t! Yay! 
Only thing to deal with then was everyone’s alarms going off at 7am. If it wakes me up and I’m three beds over, why doesn’t it wake them up when it’s next to their head? You’re in a room with other people! A little consideration goes a long way! 

Now I have a lovely clean, plush room all to myself. 


Enjoyed the rooftop pool and dozed in the sunshine.
Colin from Couchsurfing messaged me asking if I had any plans, apart from lounging around, I hadn’t actually made any for today. He offered to take me to Wake Park. A lake with a zip line for people to wakeboard around on. The guys doing it made it look so easy! 


Colin treated me to a milkshake while we watched the wakeboarders and we swapped travel stories, Colin had just returned from a trip to Phuket, another one on my list, so enjoyed getting as much info as possible!


We took a walk on the beach, although the beach itself is decent, the numerous tankers parked in the bay spoil the horizon somewhat, although I’ve been informed that these ships bring in about 50% of Singapore’s revenue.





I found the very rare and elusive Singapore sea orange washed up on the shore..


Colin then took me for Malaysian food, we had Murtavak, which is like eggy bread stuffed with meat, Sup sayur, a vegetable soup, Butter chicken, which was basically chicken tikka, with a fish curry on the side to dip the bread in and washed down with Teh Tarik, which literally translates to ‘tea pull’, like a very milky tea. 



It was all delicious and I was stuffed, Colin returned me to my hotel fat and happy and ready for a lay down.
Obviously that didn’t happen, it’s my last day tomorrow so I was flicking through the book to see what else I fancied doing…

Leave a Reply

